Resources

Click here to find a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician in your community. Below is a list of resources for parents, educators and safety professionals.

General Safety

Safe Kids Worldwide – www.safekids.org

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta – www.choa.org

CDC’s National Center for Injury Prevention and Control – www.cdc.gov

Emory Center for Injury Control – www.emorycenterforinjurycontrol.org

Georgia Department of Public Health – dph.georgia.gov/

Children’s Safety Network – www.childrenssafetynetwork.org

National Safety Council – www.nsc.org

American Academy of Pediatrics – www.aap.org

Consumer Federation of America – www.consumerfed.org

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission – www.cpsc.gov

Home Insurance – www.homeinsurance.org

U.S. National Library of Medicine- https://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/

Motor Vehicle Safety

National Highway Traffic Safety Adminstration – www.nhtsa.gov

Governor’s Office of Highway Safety – www.gahighwaysafety.org/

Georgia Traffic Injury Prevention Institute – www.ridesafegeorgia.org

National Transportation Safety Board Child Seat Safety – www.ntsb.gov

Motor Vehicle Occupant Injury: The Community Guide – http://www.thecommunityguide.org/mvoi/index.html

SafetyBeltSafe USA – www.carseat.org

Kids in Cars – www.kidsincars.org

Car Seat Check Listings – www.seatcheck.org

Teens in the Driver Seat- www.t-driver.com/

Cinema Drive- www.mobilecinemapark.com/cinemadrive.html

Bike and Pedestrian Safety

National Center for Bicycling and Walking – www.bikewalk.org

Bicycle Helmet Safety Institute – www.helmets.org

Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center – www.pedbikeinfo.org/

Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals – www.apbp.org

Georgia Department of Transportation – www.dot.ga.gov/

Walk Your Child to School Day – www.walktoschool-usa.org

Georgia Safe Routes to School – www.saferoutesga.org

Fire Safety

National Fire Protection Agency – www.nfpa.org

U.S. Fire Administration – www.usfa.fema.gov/kids

Sparky the Fire Dog – www.sparky.org

FIREPROOF Children – www.fireproofchildren.com

GA Firefighters Burn Foundation – www.gfbf.org

Water Safety

Pool Safely – www.poolsafely.gov

National Safe Boating Council – www.safeboatingcouncil.org

National Recreation and Parks Association – www.nrpa.org

American Red Cross – www.redcross.org

National Water Safety Program – http://watersafety.usace.army.mil/

US Coast Guard – www.uscgboating.org

Georgia Department of Natural Resources – www.gadnr.org

Poison Safety

Georgia Poison Center – www.georgiapoisoncenter.org/

Poison Prevention Week Council – www.poisonprevention.org

National Alliance to End Childhood Lead Poisoning – http://www.aecf.org/MajorInitiatives/MoreCaseyInitiatives/ProgramProfiles/Coalition.aspx

US Department of Housing and Urban Development-| www.hud.gov

American Association of Poison Control Centers – www.aapcc.org

Environmental Protection Agency – www.epa.gov

Home Safety

National Safety Council: Safety at Home – www.nsc.org/safety_home/

Safe Sitter – www.safesitter.org

Home Insurance – www.homeinsurance.org

Infant Safety

American Academy of Pediatrics – www.aap.org

Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine – www.bfmed.org

First Candle – www.firstcandle.org

National SIDS and Infant Death Project IMPACT – www.sidsprojectimpact.com

The National Sudden Infant Death Resource Center – www.sidscenter.org

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission – www.cpsc.gov

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta Safe Swaddling – www.choa.org/swaddling

Safe to Sleep Campaign https://www.nichd.nih.gov/sts/Pages/default.aspx

Sports Safety

National Athletic Trainer’s Association – www.nata.org

American College of Sports Medicine – www.acsm.org

American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons – www.orthoinfo.aaos.org

National Youth Alliance for Youth Sports – www.nays.org

Farm Safety

Farm Safety 4 Just Kids – www.fs4jk.org

John Deere – www.deere.com

National Children’s Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety – www.marshfield.org

Certifications

Child Passenger Safety Technician – cert.safekids.org

Playground Inspector Certification – www.nrpa.org

 

©2017 Safe Kids Georgia

site design: danna thompson