Sharing is caring!

Safe Kids Georgia was pleased to attend the achievement ceremony with Teens in the Driver Seat® at Chattahoochee High School recognizing student leaders and staff for their efforts in traffic safety education around their campus.  Students were presented with a Resolution by Georgia House of Representative, Brad Raffensperger, District 50 on Thursday, May 17th.  This active student group worked to promote awareness around destructive decisions by conducting safe driving activities during the school year and was presented with the 1st place TDS Cup Award, sponsored by State Farm®

This group of over 30 highly motivated student leaders is passionate in educating their peers about the risks they face behind the wheel, creating unique safe driving messages around their school and empowering others to take part in the safety culture.  Alanna Magistro, Senior was presented with the distinguished $1000 Teen Advisory Board Scholarship during the event.

Today’s students at Chattahoochee High School are leaving their mark in helping shift the decision making of their peers and tomorrows leaders have been well trained and are all set to take seat in developing new approaches to reduce teen motor vehicle crashes and promote injury prevention.

While all meetings and campus-wide events are coordinated by the peer-to-peer safety group they are led by Geometry Teacher, Ms. Alyssa Martin who serves as the group sponsor.  Ms. Martin is in her 3rd year encouraging this student group and recipient of the Sponstar Award. Likewise, her school has recognized her as the 2017-18 Teacher of the Year.


Comments are closed.

© Safe Kids Georgia